Vikings and Voyageurs

by

Canada Day I spent time at the Mint, Citizenship ceremonies, as well as featuring the new coin commemorating the arrival of Samuel de Champlain.

Samuel de Champlain visits with Olivia and Carol

Samuel de Champlain visits with Olivia and Carol

July 5&6 Olivia hosted Viking Days in Gimli, Manitoba. I prepared two tablet-woven strips, between which I worked some sprang to form a cap. For perspective, that’s a chop stick in the shed of my sprang.

tablet woven bands hold the threads to be spranged

tablet woven bands hold the threads to be spranged

Today, July 9, I finished weaving #8 of the 8 fingerwoven pieces for the Manitoba Heritage project. Now to finish up the fringes, and I’m DONE!

Carol finishes the 8th swatch

Carol finishes the 8th swatch

Now on to other projects, weaving more sashes, catching up on orders.

I’ve been working on recording the book Fingerweaving Untangled, putting it onto a DVD, along with pertinent video clips. Actually I began voice recording while at Convergence. Unfortunately the mechanism we were using yielded a less-than-desirable product, lots of machine noise in the audio track. So, later this month I intend to actively seek professional help … for the recording of the DVD.

Tomorrow I’m off to Thunder Bay, for the Old Fort William RendezVous. Hoping to meet up with the David Thompson Brigade folks again. En route I’ll be stopping by Atikokan, and Quetico Provincial Park.

Hope youall are having a pleasant Summer.

Tags:

One Response to “Vikings and Voyageurs”

  1. William Linthicum Says:

    Hi, I absolutely love your sashes. They are truly works of art. I am a native american in and I would love to wear one for dances and I would be more proud to advertise for you as a bonus. : ) I’m sure you know how people react when they see a sash of such beauty.

    W

Leave a Reply

