Class, Fall 2008

by

Another class at the Musée de St Boniface teaching the technique of ceinture fleche. Six very apt students in my fingerweaving workshop. One of them had an idea I just have to share with the rest of the world. Literature my husband procured from the fingerweavers in Quebec, when I started out, insisted that the proper way to keep an even tension is to tie the warp at both ends. The upper portion is tied to a hook in the wall, the lower end to the chair, or to a hook on the floor. One of my students this time around came up with another very clever alternative. She brought along a piece of elastic, which she ties to her thigh, above the knee. She tucks her weaving in to the elastic, and adjusts her tension there. My students find they can adjust the tension by raising or lowering the leg.

Fingerweaving Class, Fall 2008, Students use leg elastic to control tension

Fingerweaving Class, Fall 2008, Students use leg elastic to control tension

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Class, Fall 2008”

  1. Michel Roy Says:

    Bonjour Carol,

    What a wonderfull idea! If I may, I would like to add this suggestion on my web site. It is so simple and it surely helps beginners; I have always seen the problem with maintaining the tension for beginners. This is a very good way for them to “control” it.

    I will try it myself though before anything.

    Salutations du Québec!

    Michel

  2. Carol James Says:

    Bonjour Michel,

    Yes, by all means! Try this out, suggest it to students, put it on your web site. This method does not provide tight tension, but rather a gentle tension, something students seem to favor.
    I like to have a variety of techniques to offer students, so they can pick and choose what works for them. It seems we are NOT all created equal.

    Salutations du Manitoba!

    Carol

Leave a comment