November report

by

Trying to demonstrate the variety possible in this arrow sash genre, I began playing with acrylic yarn, and created several short pieces. Calling them neckscarfs, I’ve been selling them locally, encouraging folks to ‘design your own sash’.

variations on the 'arrow and lightning' theme in acrylic yarn

variations on the theme of 'arrow and lightning'

I was invited to the Canada Revenue Tax Center yesterday for their Aboriginal Awareness Day. I put up my display of sashweaving, and sold several books. Nice to know that the folks who collect your taxes have a human side to them. I’d like to think they have hobbies, relax, and are sensitive to cultural awarness issues.

A friend came over today and we spent the afternoon with her tablet weaving, troubleshooting her problem with a brocading technique. At long last success! Come to find out, the problem was the direction of the threading in the cards, not with the brocading picking at all.

wool tablet weaving, with metalic brocading, getting the pattern to finally work

wool tablet weaving, with metalic brocading, getting the pattern to finally work

I got the pattern working, then we got to chatting, and my attention wandered, and the pattern got a bit muddled. I went from using the two upper threads, to a single upper thread, and back to the double threads in the brocading. Quite interesting, and a nice change from the fingerweaving and loom weaving.

The current ‘Beginning Fingerweaving Class’ is about to end. Students are keen to set up their own sashes and start weaving away. It looks like they’ll continue to meet at the Musée de St-Boniface, so I’m thinking this is a great opportunity to start up a Fingerweaving Club. Anyone out there in the Winnipeg area is welcome to bring your sash and join us on Sunday afternoons, 1:30 to 3:30 PM.

I received word yesterday that my next Mega-Project has been approved for funding by the Manitoba Arts Council. I’ve been intrigued by sashes I’ve seen, 4 of them now, all indisputably dating to the 1800’s and very loosely woven. How would someone weave that loosely, was my question. I am now going to test out a theory. This is my ‘two in one’ project. I will set up an extra long warp and fingerweave a sash, never un-doing the false weave. I’ve got the perfect extra long studio, the atrium of the St Boniface Hospital. I’ll shove every row of false weave all the way to the far end, causing the build-up of a second sash at the far end. All this is scheduled for the New Year.

I’ll keep you informed.

Tags: ,

One Response to “November report”

  1. Robert Barrie Walker Says:

    Miss Carol, I forgot to mention I was born in East Kildonan, Concordia Hospital, Winnipeg, Manitoba, to a Scottish Lady whose maiden name is Agnes Barrie Brown. My ancestors are not one generation removed from Peebles on the River Tweed, Borders Country, Scotland. My mother was a “knitter” and she knit the most wonderful sweaters and socks to keep me warm in the cold Canadian winter of Quebec. She passed on June 22, 2000 at Winnipeg just one day after my birthday of June 21, 2000. I was born in 1951. My mother worked most of her adult life for the Hudson’s Bay Company… a position she occupied with many others of my family who had emigrated from Scotland after 1749 to, “Les quelques arpant de neige.” Robb.

Leave a Reply

